2 January:  A sober year

When I reflect on what my triggers are – alcohol always plays a part.  It dampens my resolve, starts cravings of sweet and fatty foods and generally makes me lethargic and bloated.

I love alcohol – the fizzing of bubbles in a glass of champagne, the clink of ice in a gin and tonic, the refreshing gulp of a beer in summer.  I can also drink a lot of alcohol.  I rarely suffer from hangovers and can easily polish off a few bottles of wine on a weeknight.

I am not an alcoholic.  I like drinking and my work means that social drinks are a big part of my life.  Yet I don’t crave it in the morning nor hide my drinking patterns.  Yet I do hide my eating patterns following a heavy night – which I suppose shows you where the issue is. Alcohol starts my food binges.  The food binges then often last far longer than the night drinking.  Days turn into weeks and then months.

So as I sit here watching the news and still deciding about resolutions, I am wondering about a sober year.  I’ve easily conquered months of no drinking when training but this would be something else.  Monumental but maybe the life change I need. 

Leave a Reply

